CFCA and Twinning


CFCA and Twinning

About Twinning

Twinning is one of the key European Union instruments for institutional cooperation between the public administration bodies of the EU Member States and the public administration bodies of the Beneficiary countries. The main purpose of Twinning projects is to provide assistance to the Beneficiary countries and transfer knowledge regarding the application and implementation of the EU acquis, where the stakeholders are primarily state and public administration bodies that achieve predetermined goals and results through administrative cooperation. Considering that it involves the direct cooperation of similar institutions, Twinning enables the creation of added value in the public sector that is not expected from other types of projects.

In the context of the preparation for the enlargement of the European Union, the European Commission launched Twinning in May 1998 as an instrument for targeted administrative cooperation and assistance to candidate countries, potential candidates and acceding countries to strengthen their administrative and judicial capacities. Through Twinning, these countries receive support in implementing reforms and harmonizing laws and regulations with the EU acquis. This results in strengthened and more adapted public institutions of the Beneficiary countries and brings them one step closer to joining the European Union.

Since 2004, Twinning has also been present in the Beneficiary countries of the EU’s eastern and southern neighbourhood. These countries are included in the partnership agreement with the aim of strengthening the administrative capacity of their public institutions and bringing their national laws closer to the EU legislation. Today, Twinning is also implemented in other partner countries around the world.

For more than 25 years, Twinning has been successfully helping partner countries in the development of European standards and the integration of European administrative principles into their practices. Financial resources for the implementation of Twinning projects are provided by the EU.

Twinning is carried out in the following partner countries:

Countries and territories covered by European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA)

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

**This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

Skip to content